Skip to content

Lovin’ Logos

March 20, 2009

books

It was a hard sell for me. After more than 25 years in ministry, tirelessly searching for books anywhere they might be found, hoping against hope to find good books at cheap prices, I finally switched . . . to a digital library . . . to Logos. And I love it! I travel a bit, sometimes overseas, and I love the portability of my digital library. Moving my print collection, on the other hand, is a back-breaking task. On my last move, to Minneapolis, I had more than 100 boxes of books averaging more than 50 lbs each. Then there is the task or reshelving them . . . Just the thought of that gives me a headache. But Logos does all that for me. It puts my digital library at my fingertips and makes the resources easily accessible. No longer do I have to hope I take the right books home . . . Well actually, I still do sometimes, because not everything that interests me is on Logos . . . yet. But for sermon work . . . serious exegesis . . . there’s a great number of good resources available. And if you are new to the ministry, it’s cheaper to buy the digital materials than the printed books.

Not worry, book-lovers. I still have about 3,500 good books. But as I buy digital stuff for Logos, I offload my print books and gain valuable shelf space for other works not yet available there. My latest addition is the Word Biblical Commentary collection! Not familiar with Logos? Check them out at logo1www.logos.com.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 27, 2009 10:10 am

    Hey Dr. Straub!
    Welcome to Logos! It was great being with your family during our time in Minneapolis as our “campus family.” Enjoy your new adventure with Logos and let me know if I can be of any assistance in the future! I seem to be flying in and out of Minneapolis for some reason all the time.

    Reuben Evans
    Director of Multimedia Production
    & National Conference Speaker
    Logos Bible Software

    (former Central Baptist Theological Seminary Student)

  2. lfmundy2002 permalink
    May 27, 2009 10:12 am

    I wholeheartily agree with Jeff Straub, Logos e-books are cheap and Logos keeps its customers up to date on new books or before they are published!

    Logos e-books now travel everywhere I go.

Trackbacks

  1. Seminary Professor Switches to Logos and Loves It | Logos Talk

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 32 other followers

